Adult Awards and Recognition

Most of the major religious bodies in the United States have programs to recognize adult volunteers who demonstrate faith, observe their creeds or principles, and give service.

The religious emblems are not Scouting awards; however, they may be worn on the upper left pocket of the adult leader uniform.

This award recognizes den leaders who have completed training, tenure, and performance requirements.

It is available for Lion, Tiger, Wolf, Bear, and Webelos den leaders and can be earned in each position, but tenure must be completed separately for each award. In addition to a certificate and a medal, a yellow square knot on a blue background is available to wear on the uniform.

Den Leader Training Award (NEW – Sept 2018)

This award can be earned by Tigers, Wolf, Bear, and Webelos Scouts in addition to adult leaders.

There are age-appropriate activities to earn the award for each rank. The award is a pin that can be worn on everyday clothes or on the uniform on the left pocket flap.

Scouting is a worldwide organization and encourages youth and adults to share their culture and heritage with others. The interpreter strip informs others that you can communicate in a foreign language, American sign language, or Morse code. Youth and adults may wear this strip if they show their knowledge of a foreign language or the sign language for the hearing impaired by:

• Carrying on a five-minute conversation in this language

• Translating a two-minute speech or address

• Writing a letter in the language (does not apply for sign language)

• Translating 200 words from the written word

Like many community organizations, Scouting requires financial support today and into the future. This award is presented to recognize those who have given at a particular level to local council endowment funds. To learn more about this and other awards associated with financial gifts to Scouting, contact your local council service center.

This award can be presented to registered Cub Scout adult leaders who have two years’ tenure in the pack and have completed position-specific training and other performance requirements designed to encourage and recognize those who give of their resources to make the pack successful. Tenure does not need to be in the same position. In addition to a certificate and medal, a green square knot on a khaki background is available to wear on the uniform.

Cub Scouting

This award is for Cub Scout adult leaders with three years’ tenure—including at least two years as Cubmaster—who have completed training and other performance requirements. The Cubmaster’s Key is also a great way to incorporate a succession plan for Cubmaster. In addition to a certificate and medal, a green-and-white square knot on a khaki background is available to wear on the uniform.

Service Stars

Just as you recognize Cub Scouts with service stars, adult leaders are also eligible to receive these pins. After one year of service an adult may be presented with a one-year service star. An adult who has been involved in Scouting as a youth or has been involved for more than five years is also eligible for the Veteran Award.

After five years of registered service in the Boy Scouts of America, an adult may, upon application, receive the designation of “Veteran.” There are additional veteran awards for every five years.

Applications are submitted to the local council service center.

As local communities grow, the opportunity to start a new pack increases. For those adults who establish a new pack, troop, crew, or ship with a chartered organization, a special silver knot on a yellow, green, and red background is available to wear on the uniform. If you are interested in starting a new pack, troop, crew, or ship, contact your local council service center.

Adult Awards for Exceptional Service

Pictured to the left is the District Award of Merit. It is the highest honor a local district can bestow upon a volunteer leader for service in Scouting.